Pictured left to right: Lynn Burks, board member; Raphael Daniels, UniServ director; Shawn Collins, YEA president; Dean Fisher, board member; Shannon Martin, SCORE grant recipient; Tom Kozlowicz, Ashley Shields and Jason Senffner, board members.

The grant was awarded to Shannon Martin, a Yorkville High School physical education, health and drivers education teacher, for her creation of a driver safety and awareness education program. The education and awareness program includes highlighting the dangers of distracted driving, making the community aware of younger drivers, and asking all drivers to be hands free on mobile devices. Martin’s program is multifaceted and includes collaboration with the Yorkville Police Department, Illinois State Police, the Illinois Secretary of State, and local businesses.