Higher Education

Dr. Cheryl L. Thayer Higher Education Advocate Award

Nominations are now open for 2024. Deadline: Dec. 15, 2023.

About Higher Education

The Illinois higher education system consists of nine public universities on 12 campuses, 48 community colleges, 98 independent not-for-profit colleges and universities, and 29 independent for-profit ­institutions.


The struggles in higher education mirror those of PreK-12 IEA members with regard to increasing benefits and salary and having a voice in decisions that impact members.

Organizing & Support

Higher Education activities within the IEA include both organizing higher education locals and providing support to existing locals and membership. Higher education members include four-year faculty members, two-year faculty members, academic professionals, part-time faculty members, civil service employees and ESP’s.

Insider Newsletter Archive

Higher Education archive of the monthly email newsletter.

IEA Higher Education Council

Download the list of IEA Higher Education Council members and their terms. The council is ready to answer your questions or give you assistance.

Higher Education Council Bylaws

The IEA Higher Education Council, hereafter called the Council, serves as the primary advisory body to IEA governance and IEA staff in regard to matters concerning higher education faculty, professional support staff, and graduate assistants at IEA affiliated higher education institutions.

NEA Higher Education

Provides organizing/development assistance to the states through the NEA regional offices, works with higher education governance, develops training packages, and does coalition work with other associations and unions.

National Council for Higher Education

NCHE is an independent organization for all higher education members of the National Education Association.

Contact Us

Frank Brooks
Higher Ed Paraprofessional

Contact the Higher Ed Program

We would love to hear from you! Please fill out this form and we will get in touch with you shortly.