About Higher Education

The Illinois higher education system consists of nine public universities on 12 campuses, 48 community colleges, 98 independent not-for-profit colleges and universities, and 29 independent for-profit ­institutions.

Thousands of staff and ­faculty on the college and university campuses have become part of the IEA-NEA during the last 20 years, but many remain unassisted in bargaining for ­better working conditions.

IEA represents full-time faculty, part-time faculty, non-tenure track faculty, civil service, clerical support staff and academic professionals on college and university campuses both public and private throughout Illinois. Their roles and responsibilities vary from position to position and from campus to campus.