IEA Board of Directors recommends candidates for statewide constitutional officers

SPRINGFIELD – The Illinois Education Association (IEA) Board of Directors recommended five candidates for the state’s constitutional offices.  The IEA board is made up of 93 IEA members from throughout the state of Illinois and the board made its decision at its monthly meeting Saturday in Springfield.

The candidates who have been recommended are:

  • Governor: JB Pritzker, Democrat
  • Secretary of State: Dan Brady, Republican
  • Attorney General: Kwame Raoul, Democrat
  • Treasurer: Mike Frerichs, Democrat
  • Comptroller: Susana Mendoza, Democrat

“The decision to recommend candidates is one made by IEA members,” said Kathi Griffin, IEA president. “We are an organization that is run by its members and our recommendation process is indicative of this. We have always been proud to be a bipartisan organization that makes its decisions based on what is best for public education in Illinois. We believe this slate of candidates reflects those beliefs.”

The general election will be held on Nov. 8 and will include decisions on the state’s constitutional officers, the Workers’ Rights Amendment (which IEA supports), as well as U.S. Congress and the state legislature.


At 135,000 members strong, the Illinois Education Association (IEA) is the largest union in Illinois. The IEA represents PreK-12 teachers outside the city of Chicago and education support staff, higher education faculty and support staff, retired education employees and students preparing to become teachers, statewide.

Media Contact

Bridget Shanahan
Media Relations Director