Abe Lincoln Chapter of IEA-Retired offers scholarship for students pursuing degree in education

SPRINGFIELD – The Abe Lincoln Chapter of the Illinois Education Association (IEA) retired teachers is sponsoring the Sharon Miller Memorial Scholarship for graduating seniors or college students who are majoring in education. Recipients will receive a $1000 scholarship.

Seniors or graduates from the following districts are eligible to apply: Athens, Auburn, Edinburg, Glenwood Chatham, Greenview, Morrisonville, New Berlin, North Mac, Northwestern, Pawnee, Petersburg PORTA, Pleasant Plains, Raymond Lincolnwood, Riverton, Rochester, South Fork, Springfield High School, Southeast High School, Lanphier High School, Taylorville, Tri City and Williamsville.

Guidance counselors at all the high schools have the scholarship packets. College students should contact the school from which they graduated or email karenhoffek@frontier.com.

The deadline for submitting completed scholarship applications is April 12, 2024. Sharon Miller was a retired Sherman Elementary teacher who was instrumental in starting the IEA-Retired Teachers Scholarship Program prior to her untimely death in 2009.


At 135,000 members strong, the Illinois Education Association (IEA) is the largest union in Illinois. The IEA represents PreK-12 teachers outside the city of Chicago and education support staff, higher education faculty and support staff, retired education employees and students preparing to become teachers, statewide.

Media Contact

Bridget Shanahan
Media Relations Director