Lincoln Way Educators Recommend Candidates for School Board, Begin Get-Out-the-Vote Efforts

NEW LENOX – The Lincoln-Way Education Association (LWEA) is recommending Catherine Johnson, Caitlin Olejnik, Dr. Dana Bergthold and Richard LaCien, Jr. for the Lincoln-Way High School District 210 School Board.

LWEA represents 435 teachers, school counselors, social workers and other professionals working in the Lincoln-Way Community High School District 210, educating the 6,586 students of Lincoln-Way East High School, Lincoln-Way Central High School and Lincoln-Way West High School.

The LWEA will be in the community raising awareness about school board elections in the lead up to early voting, which begins Feb. 23, through Election Day on April 4.

The following statement is attributable to LWEA President Mitch Nowicki:

“Recognizing the connection between an engaged and informed school board and great schools, the Lincoln-Way Education Association is proud to put forth a recommendation for these four individuals. Through an exhaustive vetting process, we believe these candidates share a common vision with our union and also represent a variety of stakeholders in our community.

These embedded community members demonstrated a unique understanding of the role of the board in helping shape the educational and financial future of our district. We believe their diverse educational and professional background will strengthen both the board and the school community. As a union, we are excited to engage with these candidates in creating a shared vision of leadership, integrity and educational success.”

The LWEA completed an extensive process to get to know each candidate to ensure their recommended candidates will support the needs of the students, community and faculty that make Lincoln-Way district schools a destination of excellence. To learn more about LWEA’s recommended candidates visit


At 135,000 members strong, the Illinois Education Association (IEA) is the largest union in Illinois. The IEA represents PreK-12 teachers outside the city of Chicago and education support staff, higher education faculty and support staff, retired education employees and students preparing to become teachers, statewide.

Media Contact

Bridget Shanahan
Media Relations Director