



Bob Haisman is a retired teacher from Hinsdale High School. Bob was IEA President from 1993 to 1999. He retired from Hinsdale in 2000.

Ob started teaching Social Studies at Hinsdale South High School in 1968. He helped develop and teach "The Human Enterprise," an interdisciplinary humanities class that combined world history, world literature, world religions and philosophy for college prep high school seniors. Haisman coached football and girls' basketball and was the faculty sponsor for Hinsdale's chapter of Amnesty International. Haisman was chosen as "Teacher of the Year" three times by the Student Council.

Active in the Hinsdale High School Teachers Association from the day he started teaching, Bob served as President of HHSTA several times and was a member of the negotiating team a number of times over his 30-year tenure. A Council Rep for Hinsdale in Region 31, Haisman was elected Vice Chair and then Chairperson. He was a delegate to the IEA and NEA-RA's numerous times. His two proudest moments as an IEA-RA delegate were introducing a New Business Item, entitled "Days of Rage," in 1982, calling for state-wide teacher protests of the TRS un-funded liability scandal (defeated) and introduction of the NBI establishing the IEA student scholarship (passed).

Haisman ran for IEA President in 1993. In a threeperson race, he won 72% of the vote on the first ballot. His tenure saw many actions take place, including a plan to fix the TRS unfunded liability, the 2.2 enhancement bill, a bi-partisan political recommendation process, and the establishment of the RISE document, advocating an IEA proposal for school reform.

In 1998, he was one of seven state presidents who organized the defeat of NEA's proposal to merge with AFT. Post-retirement, he has been a pension stalwart, working to protect teacher pensions in Illinois. He was also a lead volunteer for the Obama campaign in 2008 and 2012. Bob lives in Oak Park, with his wife, Janet, a former River Forest middle school teacher activist.



IEA-NEA BOB HAISMAN AWARD

Purpose of the Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize a "new teacher" IEA member who has shown outstanding accomplishments in the following areas:

- Involvement in his/her local, state, and/or national association.
- Achievements in his/her profession.
- In promoting public education.
- Enhancement of the image of "new teacher" in the Association, the school or the community.

Criteria

The teacher must be an IEA member.

The teacher must have at least 1 year of experience.

The teacher must have no more than five years of experience.

Nomination Procedure

To insure the widest possible participation, the nomination procedure for the Bob Haisman Teacher of the Year Award shall be as follows:

- Each local may submit one nominee through its local president or designee.
- Any member of the IEA Board of Directors may submit a nomination.
- Any member of IEA-Retired may submit a nomination.
- All nominations must be postmarked by February 6, 2019.

Selection of Award

- The selection committee will be members of the IEA-Retired Council.
- All nominations received by IEA on the official nomination form will be checked to insure that they meet all requirements of eligibility.

The award will be presented at the annual IEA Representative Assembly.

History of IEA-Retired

IEA-Retired began with an Implementors of Retired Program in 1990. In 1994 the RA approved a bylaw establishing a Retired Council. Today we have in excess of 10,000 members. IEA-Retired members are active at all levels as partners with their active IEA colleagues.

The Bob Haisman Teacher of the Year Award

The 1999 IEA Representative Assembly approved this special annual award.

This award is meant to further emphasize the contributions of "new teacher" IEA members to their association, schools, and communities.

— NOMINATION FORM — 2019 Bob Haisman Teacher Award Application All nominations must be postmarked by February 6, 2019

Please complete this form and provide a nomination statement of approximately 100 words or less per each of the four (4) questions. *At least one letter of recommendation must accompany the nomination.*

IMPORTANT: Please, only one nomination per local. The individual signing this nomination form must be the local president or designee, a member of the IEA Board of Directors or a member of IEA-Retired.

I hereby nominate the following person to receive the **2019 Bob Haisman Teacher of the Year Award** to be presented at the 2019 IEA Representative Assembly.

PLEASE PRINT

Nominee			Last 4 digits of	SSN for ID only
Sahaal	City	Position	· ·	-
School	Oily	Position		
Number of years taught	(Check criteria)			
Region Number	Local Affiliation			
Nominee's Street Address				
	City		State	Zip Code
Nominee's Phone	E-mai	l		
Nominator				
	PLEASE PRI	NT		
	SIGNATURE OF NO	DMINATOR		
Region or Chapter Affiliation				
Street Address				
	0.4		04-4-	7:- 0
	City		State	Zip Code
Phone	E-mail			

NOTE: All nominations submitted to IEA will be evaluated by the Bob Haisman Teacher of the Year Award Committee on the basis of the criteria stated on this application form.

Mail this form with all attachments to:

Sandy Drafall

P.O. Box 5788 Elgin, IL 60121-5788

All nominations must be postmarked by February 6, 2019

— Nomination Form —

2019 Bob Haisman Teacher Award Application

Please provide written responses to the following questions. (Should be printed on separate sheet(s).

- 1. How has the nominee been involved in his/her chapter, state, and/or national association?
- 2. Describe the achievements the nominee has made in his/her area of study.
- 3. How has the nominee been involved in promoting public education?
- 4. How has the nominee's activities enhanced the image of the "new teacher" in his/her local, state, and/or national association, school, or community?

NOTE: Be sure to include letters of recommendation.

Bob Haisman Teacher Award Winners

2018	Matthey	w Turek

2017 Stephanie Hortsman

2016 Andrew Ray

2015 Amy Lewis

2014 Lindsey Dickinson

2013 Nicole Kurtovich

2012 Kristi Uzzo

2011 Martha Venetucci

2010 Tron Young

2009 Kevin Robinson

2008 Shawn Collins

2007 Morgan Connell

2006 Abigail Morris

2005 No Award Given

2004 Mark Cohen

2003 Julie Lichfelt

2002 Glenn Anderson

2001 Jane Weiss

2000 Amy Feinbery