Al Llorens, IEA vice president; Lindsey Jensen, 2017-18 Illinois teacher of the year; Tony Smith, Illinois state school superintendent

A Dwight Township High School English teacher was named the Illinois Teacher of the Year Saturday at an awards dinner in Bloomington.

Lindsey Jensen teaches English in Dwight Public Schools District 230., which is located in IEA’s Region 44.

“We are so proud of Lindsey and all she does for her students every day, going the extra mile on behalf of them to make sure they not only learn all they can but to live up to their potential in every way,” said Al Llorens, IEA vice president.

“We are proud of all of our members who were nominated and acknowledged. IEA was well-represented at the Those Who Excel event and it speaks volumes about the work our members are doing day in and day out to ensure a bright future for kids in this state.”

Eight of the 10 finalists for the Illinois State Board of Education’s teacher of the year were IEA members.

The “Those Who Excel” banquet and program in Normal acknowledged the work of more than 230 teachers and school personnel from throughout the state.

A selection committee comprised of administrators, teachers, educational service personnel, student support personnel and past Illinois teacher of the year winners reviewed 234 nominations this year. Jensen will represent Illinois at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration Space Camp in Huntsville, Ala., and in the Council of Chief State School Officers’ National Teacher of the Year Program, among other responsibilities.

Illinois Teacher of the Year 2017-18 candidates and past winners, with Tony Smith, state school superintendent.

2017 ISBE Teacher of the Year IEA finalists

Teresa Eden is a Title 1 reading teacher at Monroe Center Grade School, located in Monroe Center, in Meridian Community Unit School District 223.

Stillman Valley Education Association
Region 22

William Farmer teaches biology and chemistry at Evanston Township High School, located in Evanston, in District 202.

Evanston HS Teachers Council
Region 41

Erin Miller is a fourth-grade teacher in a self-contained classroom at Brimfield Grade School, located in Brimfield, in Brimfield Unit District 309.

Brimfield Education Association
Region 16 

Jamie Nash-Mayberry teaches social studies at Shawnee High School, located in Wolf Lake, in Shawnee Community Unit School District 84.

Shawnee Education Association
Region 2

Angie Noble is a third-grade teacher at Jerseyville East Elementary School, located in Jerseyville, in Jersey Community Unit School District 100.

Jersey County Education Association
Region 6

Faith Skinner teaches math in sixth grade at Emily G. Johns School, located in Plano, in Plano Community Unit School District 88.

Plano Education Association
Region 65

Morgan Teske is a special education teacher in grades 9-12 at East High School, located in Rockford, in Rockford Public School District 205.

Rockford Education Association
Region 21