The Illinois Education Association is proud to announce that eight of the 10 finalists for the Illinois State Board of Education’s teacher of the year are IEA members!

The winner will be announced Oct. 28 during the “Those Who Excel” banquet and program in Normal that will acknowledge the work of more than 230 teachers and school personnel from throughout the state.

“The Those Who Excel program honors and celebrates some of Illinois’ most exemplary teachers at every level,” said State Superintendent of Education Tony Smith. “Every student deserves to feel like they belong. Our 10 teacher of the year finalists are outstanding representatives of educators who continuously go above and beyond to make students feel well known and well cared for. Their level of commitment, their passion, and their dedication is evident in their strong relationships with students, colleagues, and families within their communities.”

A selection committee comprised of administrators, teachers, educational service personnel, student support personnel and past Illinois teacher of the year winners reviewed 234 nominations this year. The winner will represent Illinois at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration Space Camp in Huntsville, Ala., and in the Council of Chief State School Officers’ National Teacher of the Year Program.

2017 ISBE Teacher of the Year IEA finalists

Teresa Eden is a Title 1 reading teacher at Monroe Center Grade School, located in Monroe Center, in Meridian Community Unit School District 223.

Stillman Valley Education Association
Region 22

William Farmer teaches biology and chemistry at Evanston Township High School, located in Evanston, in District 202.

Evanston HS Teachers Council
Region 41

Lindsey Jensen teaches English at Dwight Township High School, located in Dwight, in Dwight Public Schools District 230.

Dwight Education Association
Region 44

Erin Miller is a fourth-grade teacher in a self-contained classroom at Brimfield Grade School, located in Brimfield, in Brimfield Unit District 309.

Brimfield Education Association
Region 16 

Jamie Nash-Mayberry teaches social studies at Shawnee High School, located in Wolf Lake, in Shawnee Community Unit School District 84.

Shawnee Education Association
Region 2

Angie Noble is a third-grade teacher at Jerseyville East Elementary School, located in Jerseyville, in Jersey Community Unit School District 100.

Jersey County Education Association
Region 6

Faith Skinner teaches math in sixth grade at Emily G. Johns School, located in Plano, in Plano Community Unit School District 88.

Plano Education Association
Region 65

Morgan Teske is a special education teacher in grades 9-12 at East High School, located in Rockford, in Rockford Public School District 205.

Rockford Education Association
Region 21